Painted the Freezer and made Laundry Detergent!

Tuesday was my day off. It was also the day I planned to defrost and paint the freezer black to match the rest of our appliances. The 2008 12 cf freezer was originally a textured white. Now it’s a textured black. Looks like new too. It had acquired a few scuffs and scrapes, one of which was down to metal. I used Rustoleum’s Appliance Epoxy spray paint in Black. It took a whole can just to paint the door. Good thing I had bought two cans on Friday. I painted the case of the freezer while sitting in place. The door was taken apart and painted outside.

Freezer door painted with Rustoleum Appliance Epoxy spray paint.

Freezer door painted with Rustoleum Appliance Epoxy spray paint.

Rubbery handle painted with Rustoleum FlexiDip in Black.

Rubbery handle painted with Rustoleum FlexiDip in Black.

Hard plastic primed with Painter's Touch Clear Matte then painted with Rustoleum  Appliance Epoxy.

Hard plastic primed with Painter’s Touch Clear Matte then painted with Rustoleum Appliance Epoxy.

 ON EDIT: 8/3/14… The Rustoleum FlexiDip did exactly what it is advertised that it would do. It peeled off. So I ended up spraying the rubbery handle with Rustoleum Universal spray paint in Satin Black. It’s been a few weeks and the handle is doing great. I should have used this first but I wanted to try the FlexiDip. Live and learn.

Also made a batch of Homemade Laundry Soap (powdered version) on Thursday, my other day off. I like this one because I don’t have to measure anything and I don’t have to cook anything. Plus it will keep without having to stir or mix it before using every time. I just put a 3 oz bar of Ivory Soap (3pk @ $0.97) on a paper plate and microwaved it for 1-1/2 minutes on high (I waved for 1 minute, removed the fluffed soap, then waved the blob of semi-solid soap that was left until it was blown up). I used a total of three bars. Then, after it cools a bit, I pulled it into pieces and tossed it into my Ninja food processor to make fine crumbs. I combined the soap with 1 (3 lb 7 oz @ $3.24) box Super Washing Powder, 1 (4 lb 12 oz @ $6.15) box 20 Mule Team Borax, 1 (4 lb @ $2.24) box of Arm & Hammer Baking Soda and 1 (1.3 lb @ $3.86) jar of Oxyclean. I put mine in a tall kitchen trash bag and mixed it up. It only takes 2 tbsp to wash a load of clothes in my super large capacity top load washer. Only Ivory can be microwaved. I’m allergic to many fragrances or soaps, not sure which. But I am fine with Ivory so that is the one I chose to use. Plus I’m lazy and liked the idea that I could avoid grating the soap. I’ve got a pile of laundry detergent for a total of $16.46. I am using the scoop from the Oxyclean as the scoop for the laundry detergent. So one scant scoop per load.

I found all the ingredients (except the Ivory soap) in the laundry detergent aisle at Wal-Mart. They had all the ingredients on the same shelf.

I found all the ingredients (except the Ivory soap) in the laundry detergent aisle at Wal-Mart. They had all the ingredients on the same shelf.

This is so fun to watch pouf up.

This is so fun to watch pouf up.

I had a small blob of soap left after 1 minute of cooking.

I had a small blob of soap left after 1 minute of cooking.

Ivory soap in my Ninja food processor.

Ivory soap in my Ninja food processor.

Ground up Ivory soap

Ground up Ivory soap

I will post on how well it works.

3 thoughts on “Painted the Freezer and made Laundry Detergent!

  1. I was wondering what the purpose of baking soda is in the laundry detergent recipe, if you already have washing soda in there? I am making myself a batch of this to try, and since my water is already softened by the time it gets to my washing machine i think I don’t need to add the baking soda if i have the washing soda as well? Thanks!

    • I am not sure of the exact purpose of the Baking Soda in the detergent recipe. Baking soda does a lot of things. It is a very mild abrasive. It is great for eliminating odors. It will soften water a little. I think the Baking Soda is in the laundry detergent for odor control. I know tha my laundry comes out of the dryer smelling like nothing at all. No fragrance, no nothing. It’s wonderful. We use heavy bath sheets and I have washed/dried them and put them away. Weeks later, they still smell like a clean towel. And I wash only in cold water. We have horribly hard water in NM and we currently do not have a water softener. Even after we do add a water softener, I will continue to add the Baking Soda.

      • Thank you! I used fels naptha for the bars because I have used that to make liquid detergent before and i love the smell. But perhaps I will go ahead and add the baking soda to my mix anyway. Not like I don’t have room in the cat litter bucket I store it in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

