Reworked Christmas Tree From Freestanding to Wall Mounted

PIC_5804

I’m not doing much for Christmas this year. Or I wasn’t planning on it. The daughter I am staying with isn’t working Christmas Day so we decided to splurge. We will be having a shrimp boil and grits for our Christmas Dinner.

I have been thinking about how my little 30″ tall fiber optic Christmas Tree is going to survive the puppy. I have no place to put it out of her reach. It’s kinda too big since it wasn’t bought for RVing but for a 2nd home. My daughter was telling me about a $10 decoration at Family Dollar that if you turned it upside down looked like a Christmas tree that I could hang on the wall or in the window. So I bought one along with a $3 string of lights. Then I got to looking at it. Once I fluffed it out, it looked a bit thin. And then I got to thinking…

If I took my old fiber optic tree out of the rather large and bulky light projector base, then pushed all the branches to the front, I would have a flat back tree that I could hang on a wall or in a window. Without the base the tree is 24 inches tall. With the branches all pushed to the front, it’s much denser.

Next, I removed all the fiber optic strings. It was easy, I simply bent each one backwards toward the branch. Most snapped right off. I have to wonder if the plastic wasn’t getting too old. It took a long time to get all the fiber optic stuff removed. I left the well secured stuff in place as it gave more heft to the trunk and the lower section of each branch. I only removed the long hairs.

I had some green coloured aluminum craft wire that I had bought from Dollar Tree. I cut off a length and made a loop around a fat marking pen. I wired it neat the top of the tree to use as a hanger. I decided to add a second one close to the bottom so I could add a second hook to keep the tree from swinging side-to-side.

PIC_5800PIC_5801

After the hangers were in place, I stretched the lights out and folded them in half. The cord end was attached at the bottom of the tree with a bit of the green wire. The rest of the light string was looped thru the branches.

PIC_5802

Next came the ornaments. My bus is Streamline Art Deco Dieselpunk Old South Country Beach Cottage. I have decided to dump all the breakable glass ornaments I have. Mostly because I am tired of the tiny broken pieces I find every year. I kept a little of my old stuff for this Christmas. I will start looking for beachy things over the next year. I will also probably use a large seashell on the bottom (scallop?) to hide the knobby base. And I think a starfish would look nice on the top as well. This year, it just won’t look like much.

Then came the “where to put it” question. I bought a removable 3M hook and hung it on one of my partition walls this year. Next year, it might end up in a window. I don’t know. Since my daughter & I don’t do a lot of gifts anyway for Christmas, I figure  the “gifts under the tree” won’t be a problem. Besides, I do have the fireplace mantle for stockings which I think are more fun anyway.

PIC_5804

Leave a Reply

