Copycat Soy Vey Teriyaki Marinade & Sauce

We like Soy Vey Teriyaki Sauce. I have a hard time finding it and I’m not terribly inclined to going to every grocery store in town to locate a bottle (current town only has two grocery stores and I have checked at both). So I bought a 17 oz (500 mL)bottle of Louisiana Supreme Teriyaki Sauce & Marinade from the Dollar Tree store. It has no wheat in it like many of the cheap, and some of the higher priced, teriyaki sauces we have been finding. My daughter is limiting her wheat intake, hence the no added wheat. I think I have come up with an identical taste. I had a tiny bit of Soy Vey left in the bottle and that is what I compared it to. I pureed 1 tbsp fresh ginger, 1 tbsp minced garlic and 2 tbsp brown sugar with a little bit of the bottled sauce. I toasted a 1.5 oz pkg of sesame seeds over med low heat in a dry skillet until browned and let cool on a paper towel. Then I poured the toasted sesame seeds, the puree mixture and the remainder of the bottle of teriyaki sauce into a container. I did not thicken the marinade because I did not want it thickened. It tends to be used as a marinade or ingredient in a recipe rather than as a stand alone sauce. Tucked into the refrigerator overnight to allow the flavours to mellow and meld. Yummy.

We also like the Soy Vey Island Teriyaki Marinade. So I think I will see what that will involve (addition of pineapple juice and maybe coconut extract???) since I’m pretty sure they use the original teriyaki sauce as a base. I need to do that before we polish off the bottle of Island Teriyaki that we currently have.

But the  fixed teriyaki sauce tastes pretty good. The sesame seeds cost me $0.69. The tiny knub of ginger cost $0.14. The bottle of DollarTree teriyaki cost $1.00 and I’m not counting the bit of brown sugar and the garlic since I always have those on hand. So it cost me about $1.85 for a 17 oz bottle of fixed teriyaki sauce. That’s about 11 cents per oz and a 21 oz bottle of hard-to-find Soy Vey runs about 18 cents per oz.

Leave a Reply

