TRIP ROUTE MAPPING

Recently I got a new2me laptop to replace the other laptop (the one that the dog keeps knocking on the floor) because it is falling apart. It is being relegated to use as a “Netflix” player. So I have been slowly moving things over. I had to download my obsolete MS Streets&Trips 2013 again. I’ve bought this program in the past but MS decided it wasn’t worth their time and stopped producing it and stopped supporting it. I got my copy (free) from thepiratebay org https://thepiratebay.org/torrent/8313321/Microsoft_Streets_and_Trips_2013_(x86_and_x64)_-_DVD_(English). It downloads as an ISO which is too big for any of the CDs that I have on hand. I used the information that I found online to mount the ISO onto my hard drive. I found that information here: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/odsupport/2011/04/19/how-to-extract-the-contents-from-an-iso-file-without-burning-the-iso-to-disc/ and used the free Pismo File Mount Audit Package http://pismotec.com/download/ .

I have been downloading all the POIs starting with the last updated of the free Streets 2013 POI Mega file for RV’s & Truckers from http://www.laptopgpsworld.com, modified it to suit me (I cut/deleted all the POI categories that I have no need for) and supplement the Mega file with updated free POIs from the POI-factory http://www.poi-factory.com. I down load the POIs as a .CSV file. Then I import it from my downloads using the import wizard in Streets & Trips. I have found that I need to change the first two columns to “Longitude” and Latitude”

To Import CSV Files In Streets & Trips 2013:

Open the program to the map you want. I open it and start out with the original Mega file. I saved that as “Lorna’s US POIs 2017” which becomes my master map. Next I cut/delete all the Categories that I do not want (I have no interest in keeping the various membership campgrounds so they get cut). I simply right click on the category I do not want and a window pops up where I choose either CUT or DELETE. Once I have the Mega file trimmed down to my choices, I save it again. Then I find all the POI files I want on POI-Factory and download the CVS version of the files. Then I am ready to import the data into the map I saved. With the map open I then select

DATA – IMPORT DATA WIZARD

Highlight the CSV file I want to open from my downloads list (or where ever I saved the downloaded file to) then click OPEN

The wizard will say “Choose the character that separates your fields” It needs to “look right” so the columns should be fairly tight together. I have found that choosing COMMA generally works.

Next I choose the DATA TYPE from the drop down menu at the top of the columns. The first column should be LONGITUDE, the second should be LATITUDE. The other column(s) should be Other Data, Name and/or Address. Then click on FINISH. This will have the files mapped by latitude and longitude rather than street addresses. Mapping by street address results in a lot of “unmapped” files (locations that the addresses don’t match up so the program doesn’t know where to locate them on the map). Whereas by using the GPS coordinates, there shouldn’t be any unmapped files.

To change the symbol for all POI pushpins (location) in a set (I like all the campgrounds to have the same symbol unless it’s a Passport America campground – I can also change an individual pin’s symbol as well)

Change the symbol for all pushpins in a set

On the map legend, click the name of the pushpin set that you want to change.

On the DATA menu, click DATA SET PROPERTIES.

On the GENERAL tab, click the SYMBOL arrow.

Click the symbol you want. Use the scroll bar on the right side of the menu to view a complete list of symbols.

Click OK.

I can also change the Name there as well. Additional information can be added to the Information box (right click on a push pin to bring up menu, click on “Show Information”). It’s easier for me to type up what I want the box to say in Notepad and then copy/paste into the information box. I can also include a website there too. I always do these additional information changes in my master map so I’m not having to copy/paste the same information over and over.

I also delete the categories that have been updated from POI-Factory (like the Passport America, Cracker Barrels and Wal-Marts).

That’s how I set up Streets & Trips 2013.

I though I might let others know how I map out a route so they might get an idea or two to use.

I use Streets&Trips to map out my basic route on the computer. I tend to hang to the US highways rather than the interstates. The POIs on Streets&Trips come in very handy for working out potential stops along the way. I like to keep the daily run to about 150 – 250 miles a day. It’s kinda flexible. I try to have three stops per day set up. Early stop for when making bad time for whatever reason, Planned stop which can be in a campground or in a parking lot and then there is my Last or Backup stop for making very good time and it’s too early to stop at the Planned stop OR if we can’t stay at the Planned for various reason. If I get a bad feeling about a place, I do not stay. Also if I drive a long distance one day, I tend to not want to drive a long distance the following day. I can schedule how long I will be at a stop in either hours & minutes or in nights. That helps me to know where I will be in how many days.

I use it to do a preliminary trip mapping and then I fine tune my route using the internet (check on campground prices and other information) and a fairly current issue of “The Next Exit”. I tend to buy the Next Exit book every two or three years so I know roughly what is at the exits. I do this because even if I’m not driving ON the interstate, I’m usually crossing over an interstate or two (at least in the eastern US – not so much in the west) and my completed route goes into a paper atlas. When I buy a new atlas, I get a specific size (I need to have the map pages 8X11), I rip it apart (neatly) and slip the pages into sheet protectors that goes into a large loose leaf notebook. I use wet erase overhead projector markers to trace my route out with on the plastic sheet protectors. Later I can use a damp paper towel to wipe off the marker and it’s ready for a new trip.

Back to S&T – I first open up my map (the one I saved under my name). Then I “hide” most of the POI categories. I keep open the Passport America campground POIs (because I use them), the Cracker Barrel POIs (we eat breakfast and supper there) and the Wal-Mart/Sam’s Clubs (because I prefer to stay in a Sam’s Club parking lot when traveling over other parking lots).

Then I do an automatic route by typing in my starting point and my destination (ROUTEROUTEADD AS START and ADD AS END or type the address into the search bar and right click on the resulting pushpin to pull up a little menu). Then I go online and look up the campgrounds along the way. I shift and adjust the route using way points. What I really like about the computer is that it shows the mileage. So while I shift my route around, it continuously updates the mileage and I can easily determine where I want to stop at.

Once I get my route and stops all locked down, I save it for the last time. Then I copy the route and stops into the Atlas. When I stop each night, I check to see what needs to be adjusted on the route thru Streets&Trips, then I make the changes in the Atlas. This is what has been working for me.

Leave a Reply

